The Trust Team

The Trust Team


The Trust central team is an experienced group of professionals covering both educational and non-educational aspects. We have one thing in common: that is that we are all committed to working as one team to support all our staff and students across the Nene Education Trust schools to achieve their potential.

Chief Executive Officer: Chris Hill

Chief Operating Officer: David Harrison

Chief Finance Officer: David Harrison

Director of School Improvement: Matt Coleman

Director of Professional Learning: TBC 1.10.21

Governance Manager and Clerk to the Trust Board: Emma Morehen

Head of HR: Monica Ewen

Head of Finance:  Hannah Turvey

Head of Facilities: TBC 1.10.21

Executive Assistant: Alison Woodward

Full Biographies

Chris Hill - Chief Executive Officer

Chris has been CEO of the Trust since September 2018. He has worked in and led a range of schools and educational organisations. With a wealth of skill and knowledge, he has a successful track record in every role he has undertaken, most recently as Headteacher of high achieving junior school. Chris has also worked at a senior level in other multi academy trusts, working with groups of schools to gain significant improvements in school performance and outcomes for pupils.  A Local Leader of Education and an expert in Pupil Premium, Chris has undertaken extensive review work across both primary and secondary schools.

David Harrison - Chief Operating Officer & Chief Finance Officer

David is responsible for all operational matters across the Trust. He has wide ranging experience in both business and education. He has led a number of businesses for the last 40 years and has a passion to see young people prepared for the 21st century workplace. He served as Operations Director of a systems-leading Multi Academy Trust. David has extensive experience of chairing primary and secondary Academy Trusts, and seeking potential merger and rebrokerage opportunities.

David is the current Chair of a small Multi Academy Trust in the north-west and previously served as Chair of Governors in a secondary school that progressed from Special Measures to Outstanding. He is keen to see young people provided with the best academic cultural and sporting opportunities as a right and not a privilege.

Matt Coleman – Director of School Improvement

Matt Coleman (BA Hons PGCE), is Executive Principal of Windmill and Stanwick Primary Schools and Director of Primary Education. It is Matt’s core belief that every child is deserving of the best possible start in life; both academically and socially. Matt is a local lad who happens to be in a positon of responsibility; he strives to empower others to be better versions of themselves in whatever they are doing. He loves the local community that we are a part of and can’t wait to see our schools advance as our offer to our stakeholders improves all the time.

TBA -  Director of Professional Learning:

Detail to follow.

Emma Morehen – Governance Manager and Clerk to the Trust Board

Emma is a highly skilled administrator; with knowledge and skills gained in both commercial and legal settings.  She started her career with the Manor Learning Trust in 2008 and was appointed to the role of Operations Manager in 2010. In addition, Emma is a qualified Clerk and a Member of the Institute of Local Council Managers, having served within Local Government for 10 years.  Emma has been Clerk to the Trust Board since 2015 and the Trust benefits from her extensive experience and knowledge in the clerking sector.

Monica Ewen: Head of HR

Detail to follow.

Hannah Turvey – Head of Finance

As the Trust Finance Manager, Hannah supports the finance staff at the schools with queries and reporting. Having previously worked in a large Trust and finance team, this has given Hannah the knowledge and understanding to be able to improve the efficiencies of the finance operations within our growing Trust.

TBA - Head of Facilities:

Detail to follow.

Alison Woodward – Executive Assistant

Alison fulfils a very wide and flexible remit as Executive Assistant to the CEO and Executive Directors. She ensures they have the support for their varied and demanding leadership roles. Alison also leads on marketing and PR for the Trust. Alison has extensive public and private sector experience, having started as a civil service management trainee from university and working in various government departments in policy and operations management roles for over 16 years. After that she worked as an office manager for two law firms before moving into education 5 years ago. A jack of all trades….Alison will always bring a calm and sensible viewpoint to the myriad issues that arise on an average day in the Trust Office.

Our Trustees

List of Nene Education Trust Trustees


Lance Jones (Chair)
Peter Cantley (Peterborough Diocese Church Schools Trust)
Pat Worden
Matthew Horn
Anthony Laughton


Mr Chris Hill


Anthony Laughton (Chair)
Mike Busby (Vice Chair of Trust Board)
Stephen Atkins (Peterborough Diocese Church Schools Trust)
Nathanael Bonser-Ward
Khadeem Duncan-Banerjee
Russell Hargrave
Chris Hill
Emma Nuttall
Melanie Spinks-Wilson
Georgina Rose
Ron Whittaker (Peterborough Diocese Church Schools Trust)
Nina Wilson